BREAKING: 17 Darjeeling Municipality Ward Councillors Join BJP

Darjeeling Councillors17 Darjeeling Municipality Ward Councillors Join BJP

17 ward councillors from Darjeeling Municipality today joined BJP, in the presence of Darjeeling MP Raju Bista and BJP Bengal observer Kailash Vijayvarghiya.

On May 29th, these councillors had submitted a motion of “No Confidence”, against the present board, which is backed by TMC supported Binay Tamang faction of BJP. Following which, these councillors had gone underground.

Tweeting about their joining BJP, Kailash Vijayvarghiya said, “राष्ट्र की मुख्य धारा में स्वागत है!

भाजपा का कुनबा बढ़ रहा है! #WestBengal से लोकसभा की 18 सीटें जीतने बाद राज्य के 50 से ज्यादा पार्षद #BJP में शरीक हुए! अब दार्जिलिंग के गोरखा जनमुक्ति मोर्चा से जुड़े 17 पार्षदों ने भाजपा की सदस्यता ली!

बढ़ता कुनबा, बढ़ती जिम्मेदारी!”

There were reports of the families of these councillors being threatened, and also allegations of them being kidnapped by Noman Rai, who is loyal to Bimal Gurung.

With this move, BJP now seems to be in a position to overthrow TMC backed board in Darjeeling Municipality.

Formed in 1850, Darjeeling is one of the oldest municipalities in India. It currently has 32 wards, but after one of the councillors Ram Golay had resigned during 2017 Gorkhaland agitation, and another Mani Pradhan died in 2018, there are effective, only 30 councillors, and with 16 at hand, BJP is well set to establish themselves in the Darjeeling Municipality for the first time in history.

SEE ALSO:  False Cases Lodged to Quell Gorkhaland Movement: Gurung to SC

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.