2024 General Elections: Darjeeling LS Constituency – A Summary

2024 General Elections

2024 General Elections has been intriguing to say the least. Darjeeling LS constituency is one of the most closely watched constituencies in India, because of its strategic location, and also because of the interesting ethnic and political equations.

In 2024 General Elections, the contest was between two major party – BJP and TMC, however, the contest had been made interesting by the entry of individuals, who are popular on social media. The interesting equation was made further interesting by the entry of Kurseong MLA Bishnu Prasad Sharma, who entered the fray against his own party BJP’s official candidate Raju Bista.

Here are some key take away from the results:

2024 General Elections
  • In total, 13,24,266 valid votes were cast
  • The winning BJP candidate Raju Bista has received 6,79,331 votes
  • Second place TMC candidate Gopal Lama has received 5,00,806 votes
  • The winning margin is 1,78,525 votes

Votes Less Than NOTA

  • Only three candidates, Raju Bista, Gopal Lama, and Munish Tamang have managed to get more votes than None of the Above (NOTA)marked in blue
    • Rest of the candidates have secured less votes than NOTA
    • Among them is the incumbent Kurseong MLA Bishnu Prasad Sharma, who has garnered less than half the votes secured by NOTA

Jamanat Jabt – Forfeiture of Deposits

  • Out of the fourteen candidates, 12 candidates (marked in green) have forfeited their security deposits
  • When contesting elections, candidates have to deposit Rs 25000 as deposit (half for ST/ST candidates)
  • If any candidate fails to secure less than 1/6th of the total votes polled, then their “security deposit” is forfeited
  • So, everyone other than Raju Bista and Gopal Lama, including Congress Candidate Munish Tamang, and incumbent Kurseong MLA Bishnu Prasad Sharma have had their “Jamanat Jabt”
SEE ALSO:  NB Rai Sir No More

BJP Won All Assembly Constituencies, Other Than Chopra

  • Keeping with the trends of 2019 and 2021, TMC has lost in all Assembly Segments in Darjeeling Lok Sabha constituency, other than Chopra
    • Overall, BJP has registered the highest winning margin in Matigara Naxalbari Assembly Constituency with 83955 votes
    • In the hills, the highest winning margin for BJP is from Kurseong with 38507 votes
  • In Chopra, TMC has defeated by a margin of 92131 votes
2024 General Elections

Postal Ballots

  • Out of a total of 𝟒𝟓𝟑𝟓 𝐯𝐚𝐥𝐢𝐝 𝐏𝐨𝐬𝐭𝐚𝐥 𝐯𝐨𝐭𝐞𝐬 were cast, out of which,
  • 𝟔𝟏 choose to vote for NOTA – perhaps indicates the frustration of the salaried class against the existing set of politicians.

Be the first to comment on "2024 General Elections: Darjeeling LS Constituency – A Summary"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.